Spicy Pan Fried Pork Ribs with Peppers

This week I spent some time exploring the downtown of Toronto. This is definitely a city for foodies!!! There are so many local markets with a variety types of groceries, including one of my favorites, short pork ribs. They are perfect for this crispy and spicy dish. This dish is supposed to serve two, but I ended up finishing the whole dish in one meal…plus an extra yogurt. So choose your peppers wisely 😉

双椒煎排骨

Ingredients:

* Short Pork Ribs 0.5 kg

* 5 green peppers (I used Dominican peppers, which are unexpectedly spicy for me!)

* 5 dried red peppers

* 1 green onion

* 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp sugar, 4 tbsp cornstarch

* 1 tbsp cooking wine, 1 tbsp soy sauce. 3 tbsp cooking oil

Steps:

1. Blanch the ribs for 10 minutes (A few friends told me that this is not enough, so double it if you prefer a tender bite).  In the meantime, rinse the peppers. Cut the green ones in half and get rid of the seeds.

IMG_6255_副本

2. Marinate the blanched ribs with sugar, cooking wine, soy sauce and corn starch for 5 minutes. Get a pan and add the cooking oil. Let’s fry the ribs with low heat until both sides turn golden.

IMG_6257_副本

3. Get the ribs out. Use the oil left in the pan to fry our peppers until the green ones get their tattoos done.

IMG_6261_副本

4. Ribs back in. Add salt and chopped green onions. Gently stir for about 2 minutes. Done! Get your cold drinks ready!

IMG_6262_副本

PLEASE WASH YOUR HANDS THOROUGHLY! DO NOT TOUCH YOUR EYES!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Dana Fashina says:

    Oh man, this looks good.
    Why is it that you always make food that I don’t know I’m craving till you post it?
    So good!

    1. Jing says:

      LOL thanks Dana! Try this out. It’s pretty easy to make.

  2. Nancy says:

    Love pork short ribs. The marinade you used sounds simple, yet flavorful and it sounds as if the peppers you used packed quite a punch! That first bite must have been a little surprising. 😉 The finished dish looks absolutely delicious! So glad you brought them to share at Fiesta Friday, thank you!

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Nancy! I wrapped a pepper with the ribs for the first bite. It was more than a little surprising 😉

  3. Loretta says:

    Welcome to Fiesta Friday and to the party. Thanks for bringing this dish, there are some great flavors going on. I don’t believe I’ve ever tried Dominican peppers? They look very much like jalapeno peppers. I like the tartness and sweetness in the dish, I’m sure it was delicious. Enjoy your weekend.

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Loretta! I may not remember the type of the peppers correctly since they are right beside each other on the shelf but I guess both would serve the purpose. Happy FF!

  4. petra08 says:

    This looks so nice! The ribs have a beautiful crispy outside and I love the sound of the chilli heat with the peppers! 🙂

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Petra! Chili heat and sizzling ribs are one of the best combinations 🙂

  5. Bee says:

    I love Toronto. The St. Lawrence Market is where it’s at. You can also go to Kensington Market in Toronto to find some great places!

    1. Jing says:

      Thanks for the tips Bee. I’ve been to St. Lawrence Market. Great place! I’ll check Kensington market 🙂

Leave a comment