Matcha Tofu Pudding

Finally a Friday with no pressing issue at work that “may need some of my help at weekend”… Man now I know how it feels like to work almost two weeks in a row without a break. We also just bought our first home, while my wife was recovering from her wisdom teeth removal. You can see how many things are going on all together. It’s strange but every time this kind of “anomaly” occurs it forces me to think what the hell I’m doing with my life! But if I ever learned anything from it, it’s these:

  • It will pass.
  • Have a solution-based mindset and focus on solving the problem.
  • Whatever your estimation is, times 2.
  • Push back if necessary, with your detailed estimation.

So what’s next? Celebrations, right? Let’s start with this Matcha Tofu Pudding. It was supposed to be a comforting dessert for my wife but she could only eat liquid food. When I made this, we just stared at it. It was just too cruel to eat it in front of her. I followed this recipe 抹茶豆腐 with some slight adjustment.

Matcha Tofu Pudding Bowl

Ingredients (serves 3):

  • gelatin powder 5 g
  • Matcha 1 tbsp + 1 tsp
  • water 2 tbsp (may need more depending on the tofu)
  • soft tofu (extra soft? better) 110g
  • sugar 40 g
  • milk 100 g, and light cream 80 g

Directions:

  1. You got a mixer? Good, tofu, water plus matcha. Press the button. Add more water if necessary. They should mix like a smoothie.
  2. Heat up a small pot with medium heat. Melt the sugar with milk and cream.
  3. Add the tofu and match mix. Stir until all blend in.
  4. Add the gelatin powder and keep stirring. Turn off heat.
  5. Now it’s the fun part. Bring out the dessert molds & shapes. Fill them and cool down in the fridge overnight.
  6. Get them out and take a spoon now!

Matcha Tofu Pudding Bowl2

It will melt, in your mouth. No more ice cream in summer? And of course, desserts for the party Fiesta Friday #66 by Angie and co-hosted by Anna @Anna International 🙂

fiesta-friday-badge-button

7 Comments Add yours

  1. eatmunchlove says:

    I’ve never thought to make tofu pudding myself before! Looks gorgeous happy FF!

  2. Arl's World says:

    Never had this before. It looks very pretty! Happy FF!

  3. Lili says:

    Interesting looking dessert! Thinking of giving it a try with maple syrup and almond milk… I’ve been wanting a creamy dessert with matcha in it. Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

  4. weebirdie says:

    Wow, I love Matcha dessert, and this looks sooooo good! I have never made tofu pudding, but I want to try it now…

  5. This sounds delightful! I’ve got some leftover tofu and some matcha powder to use and this sounds like a good use for them 🙂

  6. Angie says:

    I can’t find matcha powder at the Asian store! Would it be in the tea section or baking section? Unless maybe I was totally blind! But I really like green tea ice cream and mochi. I like anything flavored with green tea, period. This sounds really good, Jing! 🙂

    1. Angie says:

      Thanks! Will look again.

Leave a comment