Jade Cabbage Rolls

Thank God it’s Friday! Two weeks working overtime is not fun, at all. Before I joined the new team, the estimation of the current project was all set, and sadly unrealistic…I haven’t been in the kitchen for a week, which is torturing me, especially after reading some mouth-watering posts in the reader feeds. After yesterday’s mess, I realize that I have to stop and go cook something to reset myself. So to follow my previous post, I decided to make another dish with cabbages, the Jade Cabbage Rolls. It’s a healthy appetizer and rolling is always fun, isn’t it? This might help the kids who have problem with eating vegetables as well 🙂

Jade Cabbage Rolls

Ingredients:

  • 5 cabbage leaves
  • 1 carrot, shredded
  • 1 box of enoki mushroom (This is optional. Honestly, I think other shredded vegetables would be better. Or you can use shredded chicken breasts. The original recipe 白菜卷 uses shredded fried eggs, a good option as well)
  • some salt, sugar and your favorite hot sauce
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil

IMG_7767_副本Directions:

  1. Rinse the cabbage leaves and boil for 1 minute. Set aside to dry.
  2. Cut off the root of the enoki mushroom. Rinse, and boil for 1 minute. Set aside to dry.
  3. In a frying pan, heat oil over medium heat. Stir fry the shredded carrot for a minute. Add salt and sugar to taste.
  4. Now let’s roll! Gently unfold the cabbage leaves and place them on a flat cutting board. Put 1/5 carrot and enoki mushroom on one cabbage leaf, close to the bottom and slowly roll up. Repeat for all leaves.
  5. Cut all the rolls in half. We are all set 🙂

Jade Cabbage Rolls-2

All healthy, juicy and chewy 😉

Did I forget to mention that yesterday we ate a whole box of fried chicken? It’s all about food guilt…

I’m bring these rolls to Angie’s Fiesta Friday #61 at FiestaFriday.net, cohosted by Selma at Selma’s Table and Margy at La Petite Casserole. Man I missed one party and there’s a new site already! I better keep up every week!

fiesta-friday-badge-button

17 Comments Add yours

  1. This is a beautiful dish! Thank you for sharing.

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Julie!

  2. Sinfully Tempting says:

    Lovely, and the photos are amazing! Thanks for bringing these to the party! 🙂

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Jeannette 🙂

  3. These rolls look fabulous!!

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Naina!

  4. Hi, thanks so much for sharing your delicious recipe for cabbage rolls with us at Fiesta Friday. As co-host, please may I ask you to edit your post to include the link and a mention to Angie’s Fiesta Friday #61 post – it ensures that you can be considered for a feature next week. Thanks so much!

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Selma! I’ve updated my post to include the link 😀

  5. You have a special talent for making rolls so well done! Thanks for being at FF!

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Margy! Happy FF 🙂

  6. tentimestea says:

    These are so beautifully rolled!
    It sounds like it’s been a very tiring couple of weeks; thanks for taking the time to share a recipe!

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you 🙂 Getting back to kitchen was like a getaway for me last week.

  7. GFLife247 says:

    I love the idea of using a cabbage wrap. Also, these look delicious! Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Kaila 🙂 Rolling is always fun!

  8. Sonal Kalra says:

    So pretty! These look beautiful! Amazing clicks! 😄

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Sonal 🙂

Leave a comment