Steamed Eggplant Salad with Soy Bean Paste

on

It’s getting dark so quickly in winter. I miss the sunlight, partly because lacking the light makes me feel a bit sad and hard to take good photos as well, especially when my tripod is broken and the new one is still in store, until boxing day I guess…Anyway, moving on to the recipe. Eggplants have always been giving me trouble. Most of my previous attempts have failed and they ended up not fully cooked, or I have to use a lot of cooking oil. But this time it finally worked with steaming!

Steamed Eggplant with Soy Bean Paste

Ingredients:

1. Three eggplants

2. One red pepper and one green pepper (they are just for the color)

3. Two tbsp of soy bean paste, four tbsp of water, 2 tsp olive oil

4. Some minced beef (optional)

IMG_6574_副本

Direction:

1. Chop the peppers, cut the end off the eggplants and slice them into sticks.

IMG_6578_副本

2. Now get your steamer and steam the eggplant sticks for 25 to 30 minutes. In the meantime, we are going to work on the sauce. Get a frying pan and turn on medium heat. Add the olive oil. Once it’s hot enough, add the soy bean paste and water. Gently stir until it becomes a bit sticky.  If you’d like to try the one with ground beef, just cook it in the pan before working on the sauce.

IMG_6591_副本

3. Set aside the sauce. Turn off the heat and use the remaining heat of the pan to cook the pepper chops a bit.

IMG_6592_副本

4. Last step, build up this eggplant salad 😉 Be careful! Hot steam coming out of the steamer!

Steamed Eggplant with Soy Bean Paste

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Agreed, eggplant can be a bit tricky to work with, but this looks delicious! Thanks so much for bringing it to Fiesta Friday!

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you MB! Happy FF!

  2. I’ve never cooked eggplant (or aubergine as we call it haha) before, I didn’t realise it can be a tricky one! I always love the colour of it though.
    This dish looks really tasty though.

    Thanks so much for sharing it with us at Fiesta Friday 🙂

    1. Jing says:

      Thanks Michelle 🙂 Eggplant, or aubergine has really given me some hard time and frustrations but this time I finally made it! Happy FF!

      1. I do know that it can be quite bitter if you don’t cook it probably, I think that’s probably one of the reasons I’ve not tried it yet!

Leave a comment