Pan-Seared Green Chili Pepper

What do you do with only a bag of green chili peppers and several gloves of garlic in the fridge? Going out to get more food is not an option for me since I’m on pager duty and it will be frustrating to be paged when I’m happily doing grocery shopping, let alone the weird look I might get when people seeing me pulling out my laptop and working there. Well here’s a recipe “Pan-Seared Green Chili Pepper” that saved my day (Original recipe 虎皮青椒). I have known this dish for more 10 years but I’ve never tried it before. “It cannot be good. I don’t want to just eat peppers like that.” This is what I have told myself over and over again. Well I wish I tried it early. Now I have made this dish twice in a row.

Pan-Seared Green Chili Pepper
Thanks Molly for the eight-trigrams-palm panda in the back 🙂 and those two stems learn fast!!

 

Why? Well I cannot resist that sweet and sour mixed with flaming spicy taste of the juicy peppers. But you need to clean the pepper seeds thoroughly, unless you have a bottle of icy beer or coke by your side 😉

Ingredients:

  • 5 mid-size green chili peppers. Bell peppers are too big for this, but do choose those larger than jalapeno peppers.
  • 3 gloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 tbsp of vinegar, 1 tsp of soy sauce, 1 tbsp of sugar and a small pinch of salt (mix them together)
  • 2 tbsp of cooking oil

IMG_7615_副本

Directions:

1. Chop off the pepper stem and clean the seeds. In a frying pan, heat oil over medium heat. Add the peppers and press down with the spatula from time to time.

IMG_7616_副本

2. Turn them over and repeat step one. Do this a few times until they get “tanned”. Add garlic and gently stir for a minute.

IMG_7618_副本

3. Now add the sauce. Gently stir to dry it up a bit. Done. Transfer to a plate.

IMG_7619_副本

 

This dish is usually considered as an appetizer, especially in summer, when it’s too hot to eat. It’s never true to me but I guess one bite of this dish will probably force you to eat more 😉 Don’t waste the leftover, if you have an extra bowl of cooked rice.

Always be aware of our own ignorance and say yes to new experience 🙂 So let’s have an open mind and eat more.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

