Purple Potato And Goji Berry Congee

So this week I spent most my time through the employee training program in the US and it happens to be my first visit to the US as well. It was not an easy trip. Our first flight was delayed. When we arrived at Charlotte NC, the connecting flight was already boarding. Unfortunately, we didn’t know there was a gate change. The next thing was that we were running from E to B and then B to D with people cheering at us “RUN RUN RUN FASTER”! Thank you all we made it at last.

The first training class was fun until this moment. The instructor asked each of us to say something unique about ourselves, something that was your own unique thing or experience and you should call out if you had such thing too. Well, I brought up that I love cooking, food photography and have my own food blog for a little while. And I got the following responses:

“Food photography? Well you cook and you just take a picture. I can do that.”

“Yeah blog, I can totally take a photo and tweet about it.”

The first one is legit because I guess many of us (if not all) started by just taking a picture of our daily food. But the second one really made me uncomfortable. Tweeting about your food is not the same thing as hosting a food blog. It’s part of it. So I said they were different but apparently they didn’t buy it. I wanted to explain more but then thought “oh what the heck. I’m not going to waste my time on these people”. I’m here for training, not arguing. Luckily two other guys backed me up so it got through.

One who does not know is not guilty, but being polite and less arrogant won’t hurt.

So back to our recipe, purple potato and goji berry congee. It’s a perfect choice for breakfast, but you can also treat it as a dessert. Serve two, hot in winter and cold in summer.

Purple Potato and Goji Berry Congee

So what do we need? Well that’s simple:

  • One or two purple potatoes, peeled and chopped into small cubes.
  • Cooked rice for two people (leftover is perfect for this)
  • Some goji berries, make it 15
  • Water. If you have two bowls of rice, triple it for the water.
  • Brown sugar, add to taste

IMG_1072

How do we start?

  1. Put the rice in a pot with the water. Boil the water and stir until the rice separate.
  2. Add the purple potatoes and goji berries. Turn to medium heat for 10 to 15 minutes. Stir from time to time. You don’t want the rice get stick to the pot.
  3. Add sugar and make it sweet. The purple potatoes are likely to be sweet enough, so don’t add a big spoon of sugar.

And we are done! Sweet!

Now I’m done with the post. I’m heading to the airport. I miss home, sweet sweet home.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Ginger says:

    Those purple potatoes look amazing – I love the colours of the finished dish!

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Ginger 🙂

  2. hellostephni says:

    I love purple potatoes! But its so sad that you received that kind of attitude from others 😦 Blogging isn’t that easy, and being consistent with it and knowing what to write about is even harder!

    Steph
    hellostephni.blogspot.com

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Steph! It is most likely they don’t know much about blogging. This taught me a lesson: we should be careful when talking about unfamiliar topics. It can hurt.

  3. tentimestea says:

    What a beautiful colour! And oh gosh, I agree with Steph, blogging definitely requires dedication…I can only hope they start reading some food blogs themselves!

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you! Now I regret not showing some good food blogs right there…

  4. petra08 says:

    I still meet lots of people who actually doesn’t quite know what a blog it, or why anyone would do it. I always think if they don’t know quite what it is how can they have an opinion? I think you have a great blog and congee is delicious! Your potatoes gives it an interesting colour and I love the addition of goji berries 🙂

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you petra 🙂 I agree with you and sometimes people just don’t realize they don’t know about it. That’s the hardest part.

      1. petra08 says:

        I know what you mean! 🙂

  5. Heyy! I really didnt like the way those people talked about blogging to you. Little do they know the amount of hard work that goes into running a blog. Really some people are very arrogant. Just dont give them or their words any importance. You are doing a great job with your blog. Carry on that way itself. And the dish you posted today looks really delish. Lovely lovely colors. 🙂

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Sadia! It looks like many bloggers have faced the same issue, which is sad. But we are lucky to have this community to support each other 🙂

Leave a Reply

