Green Tea Marble Cookies

I’ve been looking for an opportunity to try out baking for quite a while. The Luna New Year seems to be a good reason to try new stuff. So here comes my first edible version of cookies. Well it’s definitely not the first batch of cookies I made in the last couple of days. Most of the first generation ended up like horror shows. But I guess there’s a learning curve for everything, don’t you think so πŸ˜‰

green tea marble cookies

I’m not going to post a recipe here since you can find tons of good marble cookie recipes online. Just to list a few:

We just replaced cocoa powder with green tea powder and used less sugar.

The cookies are supposed to be round but mine ended up in squares. I really really tried. If you don’t believe me, see below πŸ˜‰

IMG_7432_ε‰―ζœ¬

Better? Weirder? I was sitting there trying to figure out how to make it rounder. My wife came over and said to me “Stop being a perfectionist. Just put them in the oven!” Well, when I smell that crunchy sweet taste coming out of the oven, the shape doesn’t matter any more LOL.

But it turned out it wasn’t as easy as just putting the cookies into the oven. Every oven is different, the size, the power level and more. InΒ the last stageΒ I had to literally sit in front of it to make sure it behaves. You childish oven you burned two batches of cookies when I walked away!

The cookies came out alright. We made a few more for our colleagues at work. Some like it because it’s not as sweet as cookies you buy in a store. Seriously, my teeth hurt.

So what about baking? Well I enjoyed it, mostly enjoying waiting and checking the oven from time to time, and the precious moment when you open the oven and say hi to those delightful little things. It’s fun, isn’t it πŸ™‚

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Great idea to use green tea in your cookies. I have used tea in sushi rice which was quite good. Thanks for bringing a successful batch of marble cookies to Fiesta Friday πŸ™‚

    1. Jing says:

      I guess we can substitute the cocoa powder with many other flavors. How do you use tea in sushi rice? Do you use tea powder or a different form?

  2. There is definitely a learning curve in baking cookies. I feel like once you managed to do a few good ones you do get the hang of it. And I love the square ones in the first picture. Happy Fiesta Friday. πŸ™‚

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Tina. I’ll keep trying, with different shapes πŸ™‚ Hopefully one day I’ll get them rolling on the table easily. Happy FF.

  3. I liked the unique shape of your cookies! The green tea makes them look pretty. I like the idea that they aren’t overly sweet.

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Julie. I guess round cookies are just not ready for me now. I’ll try some triangles next time πŸ˜‰

      1. They would be adorable too!

  4. Lili says:

    HI! I like them square too and they’re really pretty looking! πŸ™‚

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Lili πŸ™‚

  5. Dana Fashina says:

    I’m not a huge baker either but when I try my hand at it, I’m a bit of a perfectionist too hahaha.
    These ‘square’ cookies look great though.
    Very creative substitution Jing!

    1. Jing says:

      Thanks Dana πŸ™‚ Those perfect looking round cookies are just black magic to me LOL.

Leave a Reply

