Arugula Salad

Today is the first anniversary of Fiesta Friday. It’s the first event I joined in my less-than-one-year blogging experience and it’s a great pleasure to meet all fantastic bloggers out there. Of course, many thanks to Angie for hosting such a great event! I hope I’m not too late for the party as there are already many mouth-watering entries. Well, late is better than never I guess. I’ll bring along my salads and baked yam 🙂

Arugula Salad

So What was the first salad you had? I bet it was homemade salad by your parents for most of you. Mine was a fruit salad at the first Pizza hut in my hometown. Before that I didn’t even know what salad means. The term on the menu was completely translated by the pronunciation, which literally means “Sand Drag” and makes no sense at all. I was curious so I observed. All kids had a bowl in their hands lining up to make their fruit combo (Why does this remind me of fruit ninja?) and plus some unknown sauce. And there was this competition going on, as the coupon stated: “as long as the salad does not fall off the bowl, you can take as much as you want”. So I had one too. It was fun but mostly because I was trying to build a skyscraper in a bowl (check this, not mine though).

Now salads come up on our home menu more often, mostly because we don’t have time to cook on week days. It’s faster to prepare and healthier as well. It almost becomes a daily dish, happy chewing vegs and tasty fruits (Although five minutes ago, we just finished a whole pack of fried chickens from KFC. Bad day at work and we really need some comfort food. I said the heck with it and placed the order!) I’m sure there’re many recipe for salads and I barely scratch the surface, but anyway here’s mine, can’t be easier 🙂

You will need

1. a handful of Arugula

2. some blanched sweet peas, sweet corns and chopped carrots

3. 1 tbsp of olive oil and a few drops of lemon juice

4. optional, some grilled or pan fried Italian sausages.

Then make your combo!

Arugula Salad

But how I can only bring one salad to a special party, right? I have to bring along the chicken salad too. The baked yam has to come after it. Didn’t see this coming, did you? As for the recipe, check this out.

spicy chicken salad

And here comes the baked yam, sweet sweet yam. You can smell the sugar coming out and see it melt down. For one second, I feel like I was having creme brulee lol (too early for dessert?)

baked yam

All you need to do is to bake the yam in the oven (240 C / 464 F) for 40 minutes, break it up and try not to drop it on the floor. That’s the fun part 😉

Phew, here I am, at the end of this post. Tomorrow I still have to face the problem at work today, but let’s get drunk today and worry tomorrow!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Arugula salad actually sounds good right about now! Of course I didn’t like arugula much when I was younger. I used to think it smelled kinda skunky. Hahah…oh how your taste changes! 🙂 Happy Anniversary to us, yay! 😀

    1. Jing says:

      Hmm, now I think about the translation of Arugula, it actually means “skunky vegetable”, but I guess I found a way to ignore that lol. Happy anniversary 😀

  2. I love arugla, we call it rocket here in the UK, I’m not sure which name I like best haha! This salad looks delicious though,you can’t beat a good salad!

    1. Jing says:

      Thanks Michelle. “I had rocket salad for lunch” sounds pretty awesome 😀

  3. petra08 says:

    A great salad, it looks great with both the sausage and the chicken 🙂

    1. Jing says:

      Thank you Petra 🙂

  4. thebrookcook says:

    I could eat arugula three times a day- love your simple & delicious salad and how it highlights the good stuff!! 🙂

    1. Jing says:

      haha I recently became addicted to arugula. It’s like an everyday thing now 😉

Leave a Reply

