Orange Roasted Chicken Thighs

Question, how do you cook big chick thighs? In my usual way I would have to prepare and make them boneless. But on a lazy Saturday morning, you are supposed to be lazy. So I landed on the section that I usually don’t touch, roasted chickens. I just don’t know how and fear that I may burn it, again, with all the unfamiliar ingredients. But as my wife’s new year resolution says, in a new year, we should say YES more, to open up more opportunities  (or my laziness is so strong that it conquers my fear), I started reading roasted chicken recipes. Most of them involves herbs or spice that I neither know nor have and going out in a cold morning was not an option, again, lazy. Eventually I spotted one recipe 香蒜蕃茄烤鸡腿  which derived from a recipe from the English chef Jamie Oliver. I have most ingredients at home except two: tomatoes and basil. So time to improvise. Let’s try oranges and parsley!

Orange Roasted Chicken Thighs

Ingredients:

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 175 C/347 F. In the meantime, let’s make orange slices and pile them up.

IMG_7065_副本

 

2. Place the chicken thighs on top of it, with unpeeled garlic cloves, green onions and bay leaves. Season with salt and pepper then brush olive oil over the thighs. Apply some parsley flake.

IMG_7071_副本

 

3. Put the tray into the oven once it’s ready and cook for 90 minutes. Wait for the Ding! Apply a bit more parsley flake and orange slices for the color 🙂

Orange Roasted Chicken Thighs

So how did it go? Yes some of the orange slices on the side burned but the chicken’s intact.  When I opened the oven, it was like I was baking an orange pie. It also reminded me of the frut-flavored drink from Tang that my mom used to make for me when I was a kid, warm and calm. Taking a bite, as the crispy top cracks, the juicy and tender bits from underneath reveals themselves to you.

“How does it taste dear?”

“I feel being loved” replied by my wife.

You can’t beat this comment, can you?

 

9 thoughts on “Orange Roasted Chicken Thighs

  1. I really like citrus with chicken but I always use lemons. I need to try oranges as they are so good now. I brought a salad to FF which has oranges in it. Thanks for coming to the party and bringing this yummy dish. See you next week at the beginning of the big party 🙂

    • Thank you JuJu. Orange juice with orange roasted chicken, that’s what I did when I had this dish. Happy FF and see you next week at the party 😉

Leave a Reply

