Pot Stewed Beef Liver

So, the 2014 FIFA World Cup is coming next month. It will be a season of soccer, beer and probably sleepy eyes in the day. Let’s not forget about the  beer snacks. Although I’m not a big fan of drinking, I sure do love the snacks. So today I’m going to show a transitional beer snack I used to eat back in the old days. Usually it’s made  of pork liver but since I’ve seen beef liver too many times in the supermarket, it makes me wonder how it tastes. The truth is that it sure is a good beer snack. Well I cut a few pieces for breakfast too. In Chinese medicine, eating liver is considered as good for one’s eyes. As a software engineer who sits in front of two monitors (I need one more actually) for 8 hours every day, I need this for my own health too. So here we go.

卤牛肝

Ingredients:

1. Beef liver: 500 g

2. 4 to 6 dry red chili peppers, 10 peppercorns,  3 bay leaves, 2 star anise, 5 rock sugars

3. 2 tbsp cooking wine, 4 tbsp soy sauce

4. 5 gloves of garlic (for the dipping sauce, can be done before serving)

Steps:

1.  Rinse the liver with running water. Slightly cut a few crosses on the liver. Soak the liver in clean water for 2.5 hours (change the water every 30 minutes).

IMG_4650_副本

2. Blanch the liver. Get another clean pot with enough water to soak the liver. Add all the ingredients in Item 2 above. Medium heat until the rock sugar is melted.

IMG_4651_副本

3. Add in the liver and cooking wine. High heat until water boiling. Then add in the soy sauce and set to low heat for 40 minutes. Use a fork or chopstick to poke the liver. If there is little or no blood coming out, we can turn off the heat. Otherwise, keep the heat on and poke every 10 minutes until done.

4. Let the whole pot cool down and then put it in the fridge for at least 5 hours. This helps the liver to further sucks in the taste of the spices. I do it overnight, so I can get a taste in the morning. Cut the liver into pieces.

IMG_4654_副本

5. Time for the garlic sauce. It’s really simple. Just chop the garlic gloves and add a bit soy sauce. Enjoy!

IMG_4659_副本

 

 

This post is part of Our Growing Edge, a monthly blogging event to encourage us to try new food related things. This month is hosted by Eva from Kitchen Inspirations.our-growing-edge-badge

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 thoughts on “Pot Stewed Beef Liver

  1. I cooked with liver!!!!! I love your blog already.
    I LOVE LOVE LOVE liver, but people around me don’t, so I rarely cook it. This is a fun recipe, a daredevil one for my house, no less, but I love it any way 🙂

    Kudo to you 🙂

    • Thanks Pang. Yeah most people around me don’t cook liver neither. I did this for my family and for fun 🙂

      And you have two wonderful blogs!! They draw me in immediately! 😀

Leave a Reply

