Steamed Eggs

It’s May already! How time flies! My friends living in other cities and countries start sharing pictures of beautiful parks and lovely ladies in flower dress. Meanwhile in Alberta, Canada, we are lucky to have … SNOW …, again. What else can you expect? OK, enough of this sad story. I need something to comfort me and cheer me up. Steamed egg is a traditional Chinese dessert for breakfast. My parents used to make it. It looks so simple but I’ve attempted many times to replicate it with no success. But this time, finally a good recipe (adapted from this one 蒸水蛋)! 蒸鸡蛋   Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp soy sauce, 1/4 sesame seed oil
  • 275 ml warm water
  • some green onion chops

Steps: 1. In a large bowl, beat the eggs. IMG_4480_副本   2. Add salt and 1/4 tsp soy sauce. Continue beating the eggs. IMG_4482_副本 3. Now add water to the bowl and stir clockwise gently. Pour the mixed egg liquid to two smaller bowls. Get your steamer ready. IMG_4486_副本 4. Use a spoon to get rid of the bubbles on the surface. Cover the steamer with the lid. Steam for 12 minutes. Then turn off the steamer. Open the lid to add some green onion chops and sesame oil. Lid back on and wait for another 5 minutes. Pour some soy sauce on top. Enjoy! IMG_4504_副本   This post is part of Our Growing Edge, a monthly blogging event to encourage us to try new food related things. First of all I’d like to thank Dana from I’ve Got Cake  for introducing this fantastic event to me! This month is hosted by Eva from Kitchen Inspirations. our-growing-edge-badge

Enhanced by Zemanta
10 Comments Add yours

  1. Dana Fashina says:

    This looks really good!! You ought to consider putting it in the Our Growing Edge link up party. It needs to be shared!

    1. Jing says:

      Thx Dana! Already joined! 🙂

  2. This looks delicious and very comforting.

    I am Chinese but I don’t think I had this dish. We had something similar with minced pork in it and we always ate it with rice, for dinner. It was one of my favourite meals.

    1. Jing says:

      Hi Genie, I’ve had steamed eggs with minced pork a few times in restaurant. It usually has a stronger taste but definitely good with rice. And it just made to my to-do list 🙂

  3. This looks really silky and delicious! I also like the version that uses equal amounts of fresh and salted eggs – then you don’t need to add salt and it’s such a joy when you get some of the salted egg yolk bits!

    1. Jing says:

      Thanks Panda! 😀 I’ve never tried using salted eggs. Do you use cooked salted eggs?

      1. No, you need raw salted eggs because you need the egg white to be liquid still. You mix the salted egg white with the fresh eggs and water, and chop up the solid salted egg yolk and throw that in, then steam everything together.

      2. Jing says:

        Ah I get it. Thanks for the explanation 😀

Leave a Reply

